Football Cups - Football History - @ 2012

FIFA Confederations Cup

This is an association football tournament for national teams, held every 4 years.  Contested by the 8 holders of Confederations Championships (UEFA, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, CAF, AFC & OFC), the World Cup holder and the forthcoming host nation.

Founded in 1992 in Saudi Arabia, it was taken over by FIFA in 1997.  It used to be played every 2 years; since 2005 it has been played every 4 years, in the host country of the forthcoming World Cup, a year before the World Cup.  From 1992 to 2009 it has been played 8 times, of which, Brazil have won it 3 times.

The Football World Cup

From 1930 to 2010, the World Cup has been played 19 times.  The country with the most wins is Brazil (5 times), followed by Italy (4 times), West Germany (3 times).  Uruguay and Argentina have won twice each and France, Spain and England once.

The Club World Cup

The FIFA Club World Cup is a competition between the champions from all 6 Confederations. The first competition took place in Brazil, in 2000, when it was named the FIFA Club World Championship.  In 2005, it absorbed The Intercontinental Cup and became the FIFA Club World Cup.



FIFA Confederations Cup

The UEFA Champions League

Known simply as the Champions League, it is an annual competition, organised by UEFA, for the top European football clubs.  It is the most prestigious competition in European football.  The final is watched by over 300 million TV viewers.  Not to be confused with the UEFA Europa League, it evolved during the 1990's to become what it is today, with many stages, beginning in July with three knockout qualifying rounds and a play-off round.  The surviving 10 teams join 22 seeded teams in the 'group' stage, there being 8 groups of 4 teams each.  The eight group winners and runners-up enter the final phase, culminating in the Final in May the following year.  The winner of the League also qualifies for the UEFA Super Cup and the FIFA Club World Cup.  The Spanish clubs seem to dominate this competition, having totalled 13 wins, thanks to Real Madrid winning 9 times.



Champions League Cup

The UEFA Europa League

The UEFA Cup began in 1971, replacing the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup.  In 1999, the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup was merged with the UEFA Cup.  In the 2009-10 season it was subsequently re-branded The UEFA Europa League and also merged with the UEFA Intertoto Cup.  It is the second most important competition for European clubs.  Teams qualify based on their performance in national leagues and national cup competitions.  The title has been won by three clubs, three times each (to 2012) - Juventus, Internazionale and Liverpool.  The winner of the UEFA Europa League also qualifies for the UEFA Super Cup.

The UEFA Super Cup

The winners of the champions of the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League.  Played at the beginning of the season in August, it is perhaps not the match it should be.  Supposed to be The European Decider, unfortunately teams do not pay it the homage it deserves and the best players are either not played, or not completely fit.  Shame, it's a beautiful trophy!



UEFA Europa League Cup

Previous Index Next