Premier League History - Football History - @ 2012

The Premier League

The FA Premier League, formed in 1992 (changed to simply 'The Premier League' in 2007), will take advantage of a lucrative deal with BSkyB and BT Group in the 2013/14 season, worth £3billion.  Broadcast to 212 territories, to an audience of 643 million viewers, it ranks first in the UEFA (Union of European Football Associations) of leagues, based on performances in European competitions over the period 2007-12.  There have been 45 clubs compete in the Premier League from 1992-2011 and only 5 have won the title - Manchester United FC (12 times), Arsenal FC and Chelsea FC 3 times each & Blackburn Rovers FC and the current 2011-12 season Champions, Manchester City FC have each won once.

The Premier League Trophy

The current Premier League Trophy was supplied by Aspreys of London, the Royal Jewellers.  Consisting of a trophy shape with a golden crown and a malachite (a semi-precious stone) plinth.

The plinth weighs 15 kg (33 lbs) on its own and has a silver band around its circumference, where the names of the winning clubs are engraved.  The malachite is green in colour, representing the playing field.

The trophy body is solid sterling silver and silver/gilt and weighs 10 kg (22 lbs).  The total height of plinth and trophy is 76 cm (30 in).  Based on the Heraldry of England, there are three lions.  One each above the handles on each side of the trophy - but where is the third?  The third lion is symbolised by the Captain of the Winning Team, who lifts the trophy above his head.  In 2004, Arsenal FC won the trophy without a single defeat, only the second club to do so, since Preston North End FC in 1889.  To commemorate the event, a special gold version was commissioned and presented to Captain Patrick Vieira - a true Lion of the game of football.

Previous Index Next